2008-01-08

Boy am I spoiled at work! My hours are 8:30 to 5:00 but they have a rotation with three �shifts� that end at 5, 6 and 7PM respectively so they can support the west coast too. Well they asked me to shadow the 3rd shift guy who starts at 11AM but I can leave at 5PM.

What a deal! But it only lasts this week.

It turns out they program in Delphi 5 and it shouldn�t be too steep a learning curve as it�s a cross between VB, Pascal and some object orientated stuff they barely take advantage of. I think it may be a tough job finding reference books though as it�s a rather old version of Delphi.

I�ll tell ya though. After lunch I barely kept my eyes open and I couldn�t believe I had to stay there 8 whole hours in the same chair. I�d forgotten that part and tomorrow if it�s not raining I�m walking at lunch before my legs atrophy.

I have no real idea what I�m going to be doing and I get the idea all his workers wear many hats but I can say that they all seemed very nice and I think I�m going to like it there even if it�s 12K less than I made at my last job. The proof was in the 15 minute commute that left me smiling both coming and going to work. It was also in the single tank of gas that will fuel my whole weeks worth of commuting as compared to twice that at the last job and this place is so small that I can�t get lost in the shuffle.

It�s a new moon in the first month of a new year. That�s a great time for a new start.


Previous < < | > > Next


1st Day