2008-01-29

Between Idol and Lost I�m all a flutter! It�s a TV orgy this week!

Work is another thing all together. My boss has given me some original programming to do. I�m certain it�s busy work intended to involve me in Delphi Programming. I don�t mind that much but I think it�s a bit early and he should have stuck with repairs for awhile. The thing is that I think he ran out of repairs and tweaks and instead of allowing me to come on board at my own speed for the help desk he�s pushing because I think that he thinks that I�m not busy.

I am .. busy that is. I had the same problem with my old job. They tell me to do something and I do it. Half the time they don�t know what I do anyhow so it looks like I pulled it out of my arse in my spare time because suddenly it just appears. Also I have a habit that doesn�t serve me well of mindlessly surfing the net while I think about how I�m going to organize or create something. I know it looks bad but since I gave up smoking I can�t go outside and let my mind wander over possibilities while I smoke a cigarette so I link click my way to inspiration now and that makes me look very nonproductive even though it gives me the space to let my thoughts fall where they may that the cigarette break used to do.

I need something �else� to do that has nothing to do with my job to let my thoughts for the job settle. When it gets warmer maybe I�ll try walking but for now the net is it. That�s the other thing .. they see internet explorer open and automatically assume you�re goofing off when yesterday I had a Delphi programming tutorial open .. it�s not all useless surfing even if I did a few Lost spoiler searches in between. How long can one human being be expected to concentrate on dry manuals/tutorials without a break?

I guess I�m feeling guilty but really I watch these guys sit and visit each other all day and no one thinks they aren�t working. I�m quieter and more private, that�s all. Hell, they made this one guy a manager who does nothing but carry around a clipboard and gossip all day. I just want to have my quiet life where they ask me to do something, I do it and don�t have to play any busy work games to make it look like it was some kind of effort

/rant


BTW have any of you used Cr3st Wh1te str1ps? I�m on my second day and I�m not seeing much of a difference and the box said, �Whiter teeth in 3 days�


Previous < < | > > Next


Work