2007-04-30

What a weekend! Saturday my brother organized a clean up in the state forest and a bunch of us pulled about 30 tires and a lot of abandoned refrigerators and washing machines out of there and we hardly made a dent in everything that was dumped in there. People are pigs. To pollute a pristine environment to avoid a 20 dollar dumping fee is piggish.

Afterwards we went to Beth�s benefit. I was deluding myself when I thought I could help Beth out. She�s dying and I�ll probably be going to her funeral within 3 weeks. Her liver has repeatedly shut down and she�s been in the hospital most of the week. She�s too sick to withstand the chemo that could have saved her life and the cancer has spread everywhere in just a month. This benefit was not to help Beth but to give Beth something to leave her 6 year old daughter when she comes to adulthood. Everyone was crying when they carried her in. She�s too weak to even walk but Beth is a trooper and damned if she didn�t make it to her own dinner. She�s become a walking skeleton and there wasn�t a dry eye in the house and let me tell you that function room was packed.

Sunday Fred and I were sleeping in and my oldest daughter called and said, �I�m painting the living room all by myself, come help me!� and so I did and we got �er done. I taped and did trim and she filled in with the roller. We made a good team. I sent Fred on errands and later we met up at the Moose (where I made sure I found out the name of the OBGYN that killed Beth so I would never go to him).

At the Moose Fred laid out some plans for our road trip and I started planning some stops using the Atlas he has with a list of great places to see in each state. I�m getting very excited about this road trip. We think we�re going the last week of July and the first week of August and I think there will be multiple people I can stop and see on the way. WooHoo!

I�m telling you, after seeing Beth you just never know when your time is up and I�m going to start enjoying life now that I have a special someone to share it with.


Previous < < | > > Next


Time Grows Short