2007-06-07

Enough of the depressing stuff! Something else also happened when I drove the Ex to court. He told me that he wanted a bread making machine so he bid on one at eb@y. He thought he lost that bid so he bid on another. It turned out that he had won them both so he paid for two but only needed one. I bought the other from him for 30 bucks, what he had paid.

I love it! I never made bread before and so I had no idea that there was special bread flour. I made French bread with the special bread flour but today I�m using all purpose flour to make my daughter some plain old white bread.

The machine is amazing. You just pour in the ingredients, push a button and walk away for three hours. It mixes kneads, lets rise and knocks down three times before it cooks the bread with a special crust control for light, medium or dark. If you get one be sure to set it in a secure spot because man o� man that thing rocks and rolls when it gets a mixin�!

I�ve been reading recipes and it�s occurring to me that bread can be just like meatloaf and you can throw just about anything in the batter as long as you don�t make it too wet or too dry. I love being creative. I don�t think I�ve ever made the same meatloaf twice and I suspect that bread may suffer the same fate. I mean some cheese or some raisins and/or nuts would be delicious.

The only slightly annoying thing about the machine is this, the mixing paddle gets baked into the bread and usually gets stuck in the bread so I have to dig it out manually. Not a biggy but when you have this perfect looking loaf you hate to mar it, especially when you are giving it away. But it doesn�t change the taste any and I stuffed myself on hot freshly baked and buttered bread yesterday. YUMMMMMMM!


Previous < < | > > Next


Bread