2008-08-04

I�m a little sad today. First of all I sent the woman whose cottage I cleaned an email saying that it had been a month and she hadn�t paid me so I felt officially scammed and that karma was a nasty bitch and she deserved it. She sent me back that I was hateful and that she�d been in the hospital for 10 days with lyme. Well what about the other 20 days she didn�t pay me? I�m not holding my breath for my pay despite what she says.

Secondly my son in law�s brother seems to have something against me. My SIL was bringing in any snacks, cakes, chips and whatever from the table outside at my granddaughter�s outside pool party saying that it was going to rain when what he meant was that it was 4PM and the party is officially over and he wanted to clean up and leave for his boat. It�s just Ed being Ed and nothing to get excited about but then I saw his brother taking away the drinks and I said �What are you doing?� and he said, �helping my brother� and I said �but it�s not really going to rain that�s just Ed. There�s no reason to take away the drinks too.� And he looked at me like I had two heads so I said, �Tell you what just let me get a cup of ice and leave the 7-up in the cooler� and he said, �But I already dumped the ice� and I said, �oh ok I guess that�s it� and I went my way.

Well this morning I get a phone call from my daughter saying �WHAT DID YOU SAY TO PETER??? MY HUSBAND SAYS HE�S GOING TO GIVE IT TO YOU IF YOU SAY ANYTHING TO HIM WHILE WE�RE CAMPING TOGETHER AND YOU�LL DESERVE IT!!!!�

I�m like wtf? Do they do this all the time behind my back or what? This isn�t the first time this has happened. I told her that the only contact I had with him was when I was puzzled that anyone would be �helping� Ed clear the food when we all knew he just wanted out of there to go fishing and it wasn�t because of rain and even if it was rain there were 10 adults there that could grab something and run in the house.

I told her that I asked him what he was doing and when he told me he was helping his brother I complained that all the food and drinks were being taken away and that it wasn�t raining and then I just said let me have a cup of ice and pour myself some 7-up and I�d be fine and he said that he�d already dumped the ice and I was all �oh well� not mad, just puzzled that there was this big emergency to clear the table when there was no rain and ten adults outside still having a good time and talking.

Apparently the brother went into a tirade and I have to apologize somehow even though I�m supposed to have no knowledge of what was said. Does it make sense to you on any level? But I�ll have to find a way because my daughter will pay the price. She says sometimes it�s not what I say but how I say it and that�s true enough but she also says that he�s so sensitive that he�s a big baby and always whining about something.

It�s a very insular family and hard to break into *as* family. They have friends up the wazoo but family is blood or marriage and I guess I�m not �in� because they always seem to assume I�m thinking the worst instead of assuming that I�m 100 percent supportive, like you would with family. I�m sick of being an outsider after so many years with them. I think my daughter was right last year when she broke my heart by dis-inviting me to go camping with them. I thought they were my friends, but at least one of them is not and that causes problems for my daughter.

It�s a shame too because Fred is so excited about this camping trip. Oh, and that�s another thing. They think he said something negative too and I�m sure it was just Fred�s sarcastic streak, which is usually funny, and I guess one of them didn�t get it. I have no particulars on that either. This sucks and I think after this trip I may back off from them all together.

I am grateful that they helped me when I was down but they don�t seem to want me now that I�m better. Oh well. Was I really that offensive? Maybe it is me.


Previous < < | > > Next


Peter