2008-11-02

I missed the Javelina Hunt, there was just no cash left after the cruise, but it seems those that did go had a great time. I am sadly behind in my reads and I hope that changes soon but the season is upon us and in this household it means 5 birthdays, 2 major holidays and a trip south between now and Christmas.

Did I tell you that I worked for an employer only two weeks and he met me in the driveway the Monday of the next week and basically canned me. Months later I received a letter saying I might qualify for an unemployment extension on my previous claim if I was still out of work. I applied and it turned out that with my previous job plus the two weeker I had enough quarters to collect on that, and so I did. Unemployment sent me a massive first check because it had dragged it�s feet 4 months making up its mind. I was so happy. Now I could pay off some of the debt I had without involving Fred. But right on the heels of that check came one that said that my two weeker job was protesting.

If I lost that challenge then I had to pay back everything they had sent me. I attended the hearing and it turns out the liar was saying that I abandoned my job and that I never showed back up for work. He got away with it because he fired me in the parking lot and so there were no witnesses. I never dreamed someone could be so underhanded. It�s a funny thing too because when I was hired he told me that he had one employee that just never came back one day and at the hearing he said, �People who disappear should stay disappeared.�

I have no idea if I will win this because its such a he said, she said situation, but if I lose I don�t have all the money to pay back and I have no job.

Well, actually I take that back. I haven�t started yet but I have been hired to be the Monday night bartender at the Moose. I just haven�t worked it yet because I�m waiting for TIPS training. But Monday night is the slowest night of the week typically netting a 30 dollar profit for the bartender for the night. I�m only doing it for the experience and to add another skill to my repertoire, it�s not enough for an appreciable dent in what I had to spend before they told me I might have to pay it all back.

I�m hoping that they see enough of these things that they see through his ruse. He admitted that he fired me in the parking lot but he claims it was after I showed up a week later after not calling in. He also admits not trying to reach me to find out why.

I don�t know .. I�m just crossing my fingers.


Previous < < | > > Next


Collecting