2007-12-20

Well, I made my tomato nest with egg again (see yesterday) with a whole egg and pierced the yolk every 15 seconds for 1 minute and 15 seconds for a totally hard white and yolk.

Verdict: Quick and easy but the egg still had a tendency to want to puff up out of the nooks and crannies of the tomato and so I also had to let it settle a bit during those 15 second intervals, but all in all very satisfying and quick and probably will be the default way I prepare it for myself. The souffl� effect from scrambling the egg is greatly reduced (as described yesterday)



This morning I tried it in the toaster oven and just put it in cold and set it to 350 degrees and 20 minutes. I took my shower and the whites were still liquid so I set it to 400 for another 20 minutes.

Verdict: I could have gotten away with a little less time but the cheese gets very toasty and crusty which I loved. The egg itself filled all the nooks and crannies and fit itself to the tomato shell. The egg itself expanded but only a little and wasn�t a factor if you didn�t top off with the cream to the tippy top. This way, or in the oven, will be how I will serve this to guests (or Fred on Sundays)


Meanwhile I�ve gone to a Xmas concert for my 11 year old, 6th grade grandson and he was HILARIOUS! He has no concept that people are watching him when they aren�t directly interacting with him, so the �faceless� audience is treated to him making faces, fidgeting and playing air drums to somebody else�s drum solo (he didn�t miss a beat and I took a movie of the whole thing in between laughing and jiggling the camera)

The next day I went to a Xmas concert for my nephew and he�s a senior in High School who plays the Bass, a kind of horn thing, in the advanced band. What a difference from the elementary band of the day before. It really was like going to a Symphony and he attends Brockton High which is HUGE and they only pick the best of the best from a wide range of kids so the instrumentalists and the choir were outstanding. I even let out an involuntary WOW! in response to this girl�s vocal solo.

It was a bitter sweet experience though. This was his last Christmas Concert. He graduates in June. I�ve been taking him for weekend overnights since he was about 7 or 8 and I am so proud of him that I could bust for the wonderful, smart, handsome man he�s becoming but I literally cry for how much I will miss the little boy he was.

His sister will break my heart two years from now. I may as well slit my throat after her last dance recital. Thank God I have the grandkids. What do people do without children in their lives? I just never understood people who had no desire to shape and create life to the best of its ability and to yours, to watch a magnificent being grow into existence. How is anything else worthy of that kind of love and devotion? I can sort of understand the people that put that kind of effort into their pets because that�s a kind of sublimation, kind of like playing with dolls instead of the real thing but it works for them but I see so many people who are glad when their children move out or choose to never have them and I am left utterly mystified. I am simply not built that way internally. As far as I�m concerned when I can�t help a child my usefulness as a human being ends. If I run out of family I�ll be looking into volunteer work (and other people�s children!). My Mother once said that I should have been one of those women that had a big family and I agree except my body gave out after the two I have and my Ex was never the type to bring the other half of the effort, love, sacrifice and devotion that kind of family demands.

Whoa! Did I just get onto a tangent! LOL! Well, there�s another Xmas concert tonight for my middle granddaughter. I feel like I�m in some kind of crazy race to see who can go to the most concerts in one week!


Previous < < | > > Next


Xmas Concerts