2007-12-29

Posting in this journal is always a trip. Sometimes I know exactly what I want to say but most of the time I start writing about my life and just get carried off by a subject. Today I�m making a corned beef and cabbage dinner. I don�t think Fred had too many of those. When he speaks of what his family used to commonly have it�s mostly steak and potatoes, not even very much chicken. It�s a wonder their arteries didn�t freeze up by 50 years old! Oh wait .. they did.

We�re going to see Charlie Wilson�s war today. Personally, I think I�d enjoy the Great Debaters more. I love a true story of justice and succeeding against all odds more than political intrigue but who knows maybe there is a little justice in Charlie�s War. We�ll see at 2:40PM.

The buzz around here is the same question .. �What are you doing for New Years Eve?�

Well every stinking year I go somewhere and I�ve always sworn I�d do at least one New Year�s Eve in New York. Fred actually asked me to go and for some strange reason this year I just want to stay close to home. No reason at all. No premonitions. Nothing. Just a desire to not hang around in the cold outdoors, stay up too late, drink too much (in a strange environment) and then travel home on highways while battling the drunks for a lane they aren�t weaving into.

I�ve finally gotten old .. ugh ..

I know I�m going to kick myself when midnight comes and I�m not watching the midnight performance of Government Mule in New York or going WOW! To the fireworks of First Night in Boston and instead I�m sitting on my arse at the Moose or home buried in quilts watching Dave Clark�s Rockin� New Year�s Eve Countdown live in New York on my TV and watching the ball drop at Times Square and then going to bed at 12:05 AM.

Where has my adventurousness gone? OMG! I really am getting old.

He even told me to get my passport and we�d go to Montreal. I suck. I just have no energy lately. The whole idea seems overwhelming. My New Year�s resolution is going to be to live well and eat properly and exercise regularly and find a way to do it that I enjoy because face it ..

If it�s not fun it won�t get done and I need to become the old me fast!


Previous < < | > > Next


Old? Me?