2008-01-22

I�m taking a break from politics before I come back and get down to the facts and positions, now that I�ve cleared the emotional baggage. I�ll be back to examine the politicians with a more logical eye soon but for right now things are afoot.

This past weekend Fred and I became initiates of first degree Reiki. This is a form of laying on of the hands as Christians may know it but it�s been around forever in many forms. Mostly it is directing healing energies that you envision as part of the universe or a godhead or whatever higher power works for you and you become a conduit for it with good intent towards the patient�s best and highest good.

It is absolutely non religious and non-denominational within any religion and relies heavily upon the idea of intent. I had Reiki done to me while I had chemotherapy and although I can�t prove that it helped I have the words of the chemotherapy nurses themselves (who are all Reiki Masters) who declared that I had one of the easiest transitions through chemo they�d seen. Considering what happened to me I pity those that went through it without it.

I was happy that Fred elected to go through a class. He is such a logical, �Just the facts Ma'am� kind of guy that he needs some magic in his life. Plus, now I had someone to do it to me although the first degree is all about �physician heal thyself� and laying your hands on your own body. We were walked through doing it to each other but most of �other� healing and sending of energy is Reiki two.

Our teacher has a clinic where her students can come and practice on the aches and pains of volunteers who come for healings and each other and I�m going so I can see how it is with a stranger and not someone I�m so familiar with, like Fred, to see if I pick up on another�s illness or pains instead of knowing it because I know Fred.


Ok � here�s the deal. It may be all in my own head or it may not be. I am a beginner and it could all be horse poo after all but the mind is a strange and wonderful thing and the mind body connection can perform miracles. I am also not my Mother who is brimming with psychic awareness. Mostly her awareness opened up the idea of possibilities in me but I don�t have her intuitions.

But with all this said my Reiki sessions way back when with my chemo had some very strange results. I felt energy ZINGING around inside me and other unexplainable feelings that couldn�t be explained by a warm hand cupping my feet or laying placidly somewhere on my torso. Likewise as I lay on my hands on Fred I began to get flashes of the color of the chakra I was laying my hands over and then I got this weird unexplainable feeling of otherness. It was like I was tasting Fred. It happened over his solar plexus and again over his head, probably his third eye, it was dark blue. It was definitely a flavor more than a feeling even though it was a feeling. It�s very hard to explain, maybe as I become more adept it will be more clear.

But it occurred to me for the very first time in my life that a form of psychic rape might be possible if you went to someone who could do this and they were unscrupulous. I couldn�t do anything with this energy but I bet an adept could possibly manipulate or impose a feeling that may or may not be in this person�s highest good if they wanted to because I definitely felt something that I hadn�t before, but then again I never tried before. All I know is that if this is real and some people can actually see and feel the energy then they could be capable of doing things I never thought possible before, for good or bad, even if by accident. I, for one, am going to be much more careful about �energy workers� than I was in the past and much more aware of how I feel as I receive or provide the healing.

I guess I got a little magic surprise too!


Previous < < | > > Next


Reiki One