2008-01-25

I don�t think I�ve been plain enough. Here it is in a nutshell without trying to make a better person out of anyone�s kid.

Fred owns a house
I own a house

Right now we live in my little cottage and Fred�s son lives in Fred�s house.

Fred and I would like to get married. I would like to have OUR house when that happens where we both feel that we have equal rights to the property because right now I rule the roost because it�s MINE and I�m well aware of that, maybe unfair feeling, considering the help Fred gives me towards my house.

The thing is that we don�t have enough of a profit selling just my little cottage for a nice home of our own, just enough for another small cottage. I would like him to have a radio room without taking over my/our bedroom that I worked so hard to get all that sh*t out of in the first place without him filling it with more sh*t.

He hates my bikes in the living room but they�ll rust in the cellar and it goes on and on. We need OUR house but we need BOTH our house�s profits to do it.

Guess who lives rent free in Fred�s house with no intent of leaving? I doubt if he could survive on his own and that�s why I relented and thought of an in-law apartment for his kid because I don�t know if its better to accept what is or try to change it. I�m trying to work within what we�d both feel comfortable with but I don�t like feeling like I�m the only one adjusting here.

See, it�s as selfish as that, not some noble idea to liberate his son although I think he�d enjoy a better life if he took an independent step once in awhile and set his dad free from keeping him alive as if he were still a small boy.


EDIT

Some are wondering what becomes of the son when Fred is gone. There is a family trust that will care for him.


Previous < < | > > Next


New Home