2008-05-05

Well, it was a rainy weekend and I'm sitting here waiting for the sun they've promised me since 6AM and it's nowhere in sight. Hummphh! If it ever shows I'm going for a walk. I've started Atkins again. I've been trying to lose weight since January and all I've lost are the same 5 pounds over and over again. I've cut out drinking and I went low fat and restricted my calories to between 12 and 14 hundred a day and I do lose, a little, a very little and all it takes is one meal out and I'm right back where I started.

Atkins worked once (with a bit of depression thrown in for emphasis) and I hope it works this time. I re-tried it once before when I first started gaining the weight but I was doing it wrong by eating too many peanuts but they were all that was low carb in the vending machines at work back then. This time I want to do it the right way and not potentially hurt myself.

The first time I ate about ten carbs a day throughout the induction phase and I never proceeded to the other stages where you gradually add carbs until you find what your personal level is. I ate almost no vegetables and I severely restricted calories as well as carbs. Depression makes that easy and my Ex had just left me. I dropped twenty pounds almost overnight and just continued onwards as I needed to drop another twenty past that.

I want to do it again but smarter this time with veggies and supplements and exercise. I'll let you know how it goes. Yesterday was two eggs for breakfast and for a late dinner/lunch I had two pork chops and spinach fried in olive oil and garlic .. yummy! I have brussel sprouts for tonight and chicken breasts and when Fred and I ate out I had a steak and a salad wedge with blue cheese dressing. Not too deprived huh?

My tattoo continues to heal and I pad my shoe if I'm going to walk any distance but I don't think I'll have to do that too much longer. The cellulitis in my butt cheek is gone and I went with my old High School friends to see Beatlemania Saturday night.

If I actually lose some weight by eating steaks and blue cheese I'd say that life is pretty good. All I need is a job and I don't have to look until the middle of June because Fred just planned a week long road trip to a 3 day concert (Mountain Jam) in New York, the first week of June, and then a side trip to Niagara Falls with a return through Vermont and Maine just to look around and stop and see some friends on the way home.

Yup, not too shabby at all.


Previous < < | > > Next


Dieting Again