2008-06-05

Niagara Falls was so awesome. My top recommendations are the Cave of the Winds on the American side and Maid of the Mist on both sides. The immense power of the falls is thrown in your face without actually killing you. The best view of the falls is on the Canadian side but up close and personal can�t be beat on the American side�s Goat Island, heck you�re in the middle of it! Don�t expect to stay dry. The weather stayed gray but it didn�t rain on us. My only regret is I didn�t have the sun for a rainbow picture in the mist.

We left there and drove to Clayton in the 1000 Islands Region of the Saint Lawrence River. It�s off season and we had the Thousand Island Restaurant (where 1000 Island salad dressing was invented) to ourselves and it was wonderful. I had yellow perch caught right in the river. We met the owner and what a nice man! He recommended we take the international islands boat ride/tour on the Uncle Sam Boats and then take the shuttle boat out to the Boldt Castle. Then he recommended touring a winery which was on the way back. It was one of the best days of our trip. The locals are always right. Plus when he heard we were going to Vermont next he gave us free ferry tickets which will save us at least two hours of travel, maybe three on my way to Alberg VT.

The whole experience is worth an entry and I have pictures of both days but I can�t type worth crap on this laptop, especially while sitting bent up on a motel bed. I�ll post pics later, I promise!


Previous < < | > > Next


1000 Islands