2008-01-09

Day two at work over and done with. Today we spent some time setting up my development environment and explaining a bit of the wider environment outside of my little machine. The guy I shadowed today is a really nice guy with a lot of patience and none of the information hoarding I find in older folks because they think hoarding the knowledge will make them more valuable. I have news for them. Not in the new world. You just become a road block and no matter who you are or what you know someone else can figure it out and be more co-operative. Road blocks are usually removed.

It�s just so refreshing and the boy/man (mid/late 20�s?) looks a lot like my youngest daughter�s boyfriend, which immediately biases me towards him. I met the other woman who works there, Pat, and she seems nice too. They all seem nice. I really like it here.

The only bad thing is that I think I�m fighting something. I get so tired so fast and my eyes burn and my throat tickles. Last night I went to bed at 9PM and woke up at 8AM this morning. I could have slept even longer but I was horrified. What if I had to get up at a normal time for work, like I will next week? I need to get better fast!

I�ve been checking my throat and there are red patches but so far no white strep patches. So far the kids didn�t pass it on to me but if I do fall victim instead of fighting it off I hope it�s this weekend. It�s been a very long time since when I got sick mattered.

On the weight front I haven�t lost a single pound. I don�t know why. I�m doing all the right things. I guess all I can do is keep on keeping on and eventually it will have to work. I have to also keep telling myself that I�m NOT on a diet. I�m changing my lifestyle. That started with replacing 4 or 5 Captain and diet cokes a day with soda water and a splash of cranberry and a slice of lime .. yumm!

I think what�s happened is that I�m no longer dehydrated and I�ve really lost 2 or 3 pounds but its been taken up by fluid that I should have had in me all along. Next week will be the test.


Previous < < | > > Next


2nd Day