2008-02-07


First a joke for you:

One day last week, a fourth-grade teacher asked the children what their fathers did for a living.
All the typical answers came up: Fireman, Mechanic, Businessman, Salesman, Doctor........
However, little Justin was being uncharacteristically quiet, so when the teacher prodded him about his father, he replied,"My father's an exotic dancer in a gay cabaret and takes off his clothes in front of other men and they put money in his underwear. Sometimes, if the offer is really good, he will go home with some guy and stay with him all night for money."

The teacher, obviously shaken by this statement, hurriedly set the other children to work on some math problems and then took little Justin aside to ask him, "Is that really true about your father?"

"No," the boy said, "He works for the Democratic National Committee and is helping to get Hillary Clinton elected as our next President, but I was too embarrassed to say that in front of the other kids."


Or hows about the bumper sticker that says �Vote for Monica�s Boyfriend�s Wife�

Or the button picturing Monica that says �Vote Republican. The Democrats left a bad taste in my mouth.�


But seriously folks .. I get comments, like from Jim that say:

"Yes, okay, a woman president. No problem. But does it have to be this woman? Couldn't we have an honest woman who wasn't entangled in countless strands of political corruption?"

Oh, right, that hadn't stopped people from electing her husband.

Or from electing Bush.

*sigh* �


Tell me why oh why the first woman president has to be some perfect moral compass when no male president before her, at least since I�ve been voting, has? (with the possible exception of Carter)

Why hold the first woman president to a standard we hope for but don�t demand from our male candidates?


And here�s what really galls me. Someone with NO voting record worth mentioning as seen HERE like Obama who almost never votes and has no positions that he can back up with actions, while Hillary has so many that she had to divide them into separate positions (something Obama lacks) as seen HERE, will probably be blown away by a slick media presentation called �Yes We Can� that you can see HERE

It comes from here:




In the long history of political campaign theme songs, there has never been one quite like "Yes We Can," starring Barack Obama and a host of A-list celebrities. For one thing, it is more than a song - it is a viral video hit with almost 1.9 million views on YouTube since being posted last Friday.

There is also the fact that the Obama campaign did not commission the song - the rapper, songwriter and producer will.i.am, frontman for the Black Eyed Peas, says he was inspired to create it while watching Obama's speech after his second-place finish to Senator Hillary Clinton in the New Hampshire primary.




This video is a slick emotional manipulator that has famous contemporary artists singing to the highlights of Obama's second place speech in New Hampshire. If someone ever tells you words and ideas don�t matter you can bring up Obama, who has nothing else, yet I think this slick and professionally done video would have captured my heart when I was younger. I would have voted for him because he �felt� like my kind of guy. (and I don't think for a minute Obama didn't sanction this)

I can see why people love him. He�s a feel good kind of guy, but he�s still all smoke and mirrors to me. I fear for him really because the last two idealists, the last two dreamers of the last century where assassinated and as much as he is not my candidate I understand the sentiment behind him.

I just hope that a bunch of old ladies can out vote the youngsters that are about to support us in our social security days. I'm starting to have my doubts. This is new and pretty slick and presages (neener, neener) the generational division between Clinton and Obama supporters more than any race or sex division will in this particular race.


Previous < < | > > Next


Obama Video